Home » Poetry » THE LACK OF IT

THE LACK OF IT

I am not lucky I am free.

I am not lucky I am able to enjoy some of the finer things in life.

Sure as hell ain’t lucky that I have all my limbs.

I am not unlucky that I have pneumonia.

I am not lucky I am able to eat three meals a day –

       even more when I want to.

I am not lucky I can read,

And afford an education –

        education is free.

I am not lucky I can write,

         converse with you freely

In the language that we speak.

I am not lucky I have a job and can buy things I want

          Well… some of the things that I want.

Don’t call me unlucky I do not live in a place where there’s snow

And autumn… and leaves … fall during the season.

I am not unlucky I do not see the sunset as often as I would love to.

I am not unlucky that my family had to change houses seven times now.

I am not unlucky.

I am not lucky.

Despite what Little Finger might think.

And yes, we might not get to choose who our parents are,

Our neighbours, the surroundings,

Our life … how we would define it.

Is not by chance, nor superstition.

I don’t believe in luck,

          Or fortune.

It’s all a matter of perspective I guess.

BECAUSE…

We are all fortunate beings.

Despite and in spite of unfortunate times.

Leave a Reply

