Home » Conversations » The Fourth Conversation

The Fourth Conversation

We lay there, still staring at the stars. 

“Hey? You asleep,” he asks once more.

“No.”

“Oh, good.”

“Why?”

Sitting up, he said, “Uhmm… I wanted to tell you something.”

I look up at him, nervous. “Please don’t tell me you’d be gone by tomorrow. Please.”

I could feel my eyes starting to well up. The moon becoming a bit hazy through my wet eyes.

“Hey, hey don’t cry. Please. Oh God no. Don’t cry.” He scooped me up in his arms, held me like a doll he cared for and nested my head in his arms. 

“Please don’t cry,” he wiped away my tears and smiled. His smile, making me want to cry even more.

“I just, I just don’t think I can take it anymore. You, leaving,” the first honest words I have said all night.

“I won’t ever leave you again, I promise,” he tells me.

He caressed me in his arms once more and for a while, my tears stopped falling. He drew away and looked me in the eyes.

“I’d never leave you,” he reiterates.

“I love you. Here, under the moonlight and the stars shining from above, I’d confess. 

You matter so much to me. 

2 thoughts on “The Fourth Conversation

Leave a Reply

