Home » Diary » Conversations With You

Conversations With You

Every conversation with you is a conversation I willingly replay even when I no longer remember the words; just your laughter… even when I no longer hear your voice and yet I vividly see your hunched back and your gorgeous smile; even when all that you do is sit beside me, fiddling with your phone and I try to think of topics but the moment I find one, you speak. Every conversation with you is worth repeating no matter the consequences. I forget my father is waiting for me, feet away from where we are sitting together. The dialogue has become so engaging it’s a shame to break it with ‘goodbye.’ I cover you with my back so the professor we don’t like won’t see you. I wait until dead air, as rare as it comes, come and I say I have to go. Every conversation with you is bliss. A blissful temporary satisfaction, for the both of us, it seems. A welcome distraction from both our mundane lives, at best. I hear your voice now that I am writing this. But the words aren’t there. I see your smile and that crooked back, slouched beside me. 

When will we talk again? 

Soon. I hope. 

Every conversation with you is a conversation I look forward to. 

Leave a Reply

