Home » Conversations » Why does it hurt so bad?

Why does it hurt so bad?

Staring at the screen

trying to conjure up a scene

Of laughter and smiles

but all that comes to mind

is the very fact you left me

and that I let you

leave me behind.
I know I said I was happy

and believe me I am.

But just because I am

doesn’t mean it is not

hurting. 
Just because I am smiling

doesn’t mean the tears 

are not falling.
I have learned through time

to stop crying with my eyes

but now my heart 

is breaking by the minute

knowing you are not, 

will not, 

cannot, 

and never have been

someone I can call

MINE.

Leave a Reply

