How my fascination with Sherlock Holmes began

My dear Watson! You see but you do not observe! For someone like me who has loved crime fiction since time immemorial (Haha!), Sherlock Holmes and his friend Dr. John Watson are the best detective duo ever! Their combined wit, humor and finesse, in solving crimes always leave me at the edge of my seat as I read every story.

But my fascination of Sherlock Holmes and his sidekick did not come naturally. He was not recommended in any way. As a matter of fact, my first dab at mystery and crime novels started with The Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew collections. It would later be in my early high school years that I would soon be presented a copy of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s A Study in Scarlet.

And so, as I was saying, my love for Holmes originated through one single anime series. Detective Conan.

As a kid, I can remember skipping early morning classes because this was on air. And as I grew older, I remembered. And apparently, animes were a “thing” I never knew existed until freshman year. So when I was presented Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s book, I remembered.

I researched and studied about Sherlock Holmes. Becoming a Sherlockian as it is, eventually.

To this day, I still enjoy reading the stories. After all, the true worth of a good fiction story is how it can affect you and OF COURSE, if you read it a second time and still feel the same excitement, if not more!

Do I need to tell you how many times I read them?

Observe ! You’ll see!

 

5 thoughts on “How my fascination with Sherlock Holmes began

  1. I started with Encyclopedia Brown and then I first saw Adventures of Sherlock Holmes on PBS. That’s where it all started for me. From there though I found Detective Conan as well! And my personal favorite, Kindaichi Case Files.

    Like

Leave a Reply

